Go Back OFN Forums > theOFN File Exchange (OFN-FE) > Bend-Tech

Bend-Tech Bend-Tech Assembly Files, Tooling and other unique tips and hints.


Bend-Tech Bend-Tech Assembly Files, Tooling and other unique tips and hints.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-08-2016, 04:56 PM
Chassisguy's Avatar
Chassisguy Chassisguy is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 179
Bend-Tech SM and Assembly

I have been using the SM module for a little while now and really liking it. Designing one piece parts seems pretty straight forward.
What I am wanting/Trying to do now is not so much straight forward, lol. Or maybe I am just trying to do things the hard way. I am trying to design a plate rear bumper for a Bronco I have. I am finding it difficult. So far I have been able to design a few of the plates and import them into an assembly. But now I am finding it more difficult to design the remaining pieces. There a few measurements and angles that I am needing but can't get from the Assy mode. The only point I have in assy mode in the anchor point. I am unable to figure out how to create new points or even transfer the points from my original plate design into the assy module. Or if that is even possible. It seem that pretty much everything in the Assy module for design is based off of tubing.
Can a plate bumper (or any muti plate design) be done in the assy module simply?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2016, 05:45 PM
fabcam's Avatar
fabcam fabcam is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 4,553
It is a PITA to do what you are trying to do and I plan to make it easier in release 8. You are attempting to do what I do a lot as a work around. If you want a point(s) to come through as PickPoints you can find them in SM under the "Misc" tab and then the "PickPoint" tab. The Point Depth lets you set the other side of the material. So, the depth will typically be 0.0 or your material thickness. Then go and select a point or an end of a line or arc and it will put a PickPoint at that location. Please note: if it is a bent part, make sure you are working on the correct flange when you lay it down. The Pickpoint will transfer with the SM part into assembly and you can use it from there to line up more parts or to dimension and so on.

Good Luck
Cris
__________________
The Designers of Bend-Tech Products
www.Bend-Tech.com
Bend-Tech Dragon web site:
http://www.BendTechDragon.com

Cris Merry
Phone: 651-257-8715
Cris@bend-tech.com

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2016, 05:48 PM
Chassisguy's Avatar
Chassisguy Chassisguy is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 179
Thanks Chris! I will give that a try. I am mainly glade to know its not just me struggling with a learning curve :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2016, 12:10 PM
Chassisguy's Avatar
Chassisguy Chassisguy is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 179
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabcam View Post
It is a PITA to do what you are trying to do and I plan to make it easier in release 8. You are attempting to do what I do a lot as a work around. If you want a point(s) to come through as PickPoints you can find them in SM under the "Misc" tab and then the "PickPoint" tab. The Point Depth lets you set the other side of the material. So, the depth will typically be 0.0 or your material thickness. Then go and select a point or an end of a line or arc and it will put a PickPoint at that location. Please note: if it is a bent part, make sure you are working on the correct flange when you lay it down. The Pickpoint will transfer with the SM part into assembly and you can use it from there to line up more parts or to dimension and so on.

Good Luck
Cris
That made things a lot smoother. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2016, 10:08 PM
Chassisguy's Avatar
Chassisguy Chassisguy is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 179
Is there a limit to how many Transfer parts you can bring into and assy?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2016, 09:05 AM
fabcam's Avatar
fabcam fabcam is offline
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 4,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chassisguy View Post
Is there a limit to how many Transfer parts you can bring into and assy?
Don't think so. Please drop us a line if you are running into something. 651.257.8715

Thank you,
Cris
__________________
The Designers of Bend-Tech Products
www.Bend-Tech.com
Bend-Tech Dragon web site:
http://www.BendTechDragon.com

Cris Merry
Phone: 651-257-8715
Cris@bend-tech.com

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2016, 08:59 PM
Chassisguy's Avatar
Chassisguy Chassisguy is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by fabcam View Post
Don't think so. Please drop us a line if you are running into something. 651.257.8715

Thank you,
Cris
I closed the program, rebooted the computer and it seems to be working fine now, lol. I guess when all else fails, reboot :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2016, 03:01 PM
Tubular1's Avatar
Tubular1 Tubular1 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
This should help




https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUXRUdtU-Wc

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
Copyright 2012, Offroad Fabrication Network